Jump to: Halawa Xeriscape Garden | Seed of the Month | Join FOHXG | Upcoming Workshop List

Halawa Xeriscape Garden Workshops

Schedule is subject to change. Email workshops@hbws.org or call (808) 748-5315 with questions.


September 2018

Workshops



The Benefits of Origami Paper
Pot Planters

Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, Sep 1, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

Da Bug Doctor (Green Pest Control)
Andrew Nowinski
Sat, Sep 8, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

NEW!
Backyard Composting: Nature's Recycling
Henry Gabriel (City & County of Honolulu)
Sat, Sep 15, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - FREE
COMPLETED

NEW!
Rock Your Garden
Lynne Berry Westlake (FOHXG)
Sat, Sep 29, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
COMPLETED

October 2018

Workshops



Economical Aquaponics
Raychel Watkins (HappyPonics)
Sat, Oct 6, 2018- 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

NEW!
Painting Hibiscus (A Paint
in the Garden Workshop)

Erika Brown (FHOXG)
Sat, Oct 13, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
COMPLETED

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
BWS Water Resources Staff
Wed, Oct 17, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
COMPLETED


NEW!
Whimsical Reusable Owl Planter
(Eco-Craft)

Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, Oct 27, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
COMPLETED

November 2018

Workshops



Fancy Funnels (Eco-Craft)
Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, Nov 3, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
CANCELLED

Xeric Holiday Wreath
Arthur Aiu (BWS)
Sat, Nov 24, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

December 2018

Workshops



Xeric Holiday Wreath
Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, Dec 1, 2018 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
COMPLETED

January 2019

Workshops



Xeriscape 101
Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, Jan 5, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS DEC 18

Advanced Aquaponics
Raychel Watkins (HappyPonics)
Sat, Jan 12, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS DEC 25

Da Bug Doctor (Green Pest Control)
Andrew Nowinski
Sat, Jan 19, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 1

February 2019

Workshops



NEW!
Painting BIrd of Paradise (A
Paint in the Garden Workshop)

Erika Brown (FHOXG)
Sat, Feb 2, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 15

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
BWS Water Resources Staff
Sat, Feb 9, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 22

Xeric Critters (Eco-Craft)
Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, Feb 16, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $10 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS JAN 29


How to Make and Use
Bokashi Compost

Jan Nadamoto
Sat, Feb 23, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $15 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 5

March 2019

Workshops



NEW!
Recycled Drawer Garden Nook
(Eco-Craft)

Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, March 2, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 12

NEW!
Xeric: Beyond Succulents
Lynne Berry Westlake (FOHXG)
Sat, March 16, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS FEB 26

NEW!
Creating Cactus Art (A Paint
in the Garden Workshop)

Erika Brown (FOHXG)
Sat, March 23, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $30 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 5

How to Create a Xeric Butterfly Garden
Jo-Ann Maeda (FOHXG)
Sat, March 30, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAR 12

April 2019

Workshops



Gardening with Beneficial Microbes
Jan Nadamoto
Sat, Apr 6, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $20 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MARCH 19

Rain Barrel Water Catchment
BWS Water Resources Staff
Wed, Apr 10, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $35 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MARCH 26


Decorate Eggs the Xeriscape
Way & Garden Egg Hunt

BWS Staff
Sat, Apr 20, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee per family
REGISTRATION OPENS APRIL 2


How to Select the Right Potting Mix
Jo-Ann Maeda (FOHXG)
Sat, April 27, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS APRIL 9

May 2019

Workshops



Terracotta Madness
Sheri Mikami (BWS)
Sat, May 4, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $8 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS APRIL 16


How to Make a Ti-Leaf Lei
Arthur Aiu (BWS)
Wed, May 22, 2019 - 10:30 a.m. - $5 fee
REGISTRATION OPENS MAY 7

Updated: 12/04/18

* In general, workshops will run about 60-90 minutes in length, with morning sessions starting at 10:30 a.m.. Session start and end times may vary based on topic. Please check the specific workshop listing for details. Click here for a PDF version of this workshop schedule, as of 11/24/18.

< GO BACK TO WORKSHOPS